The Regional Advisory Committee (RAC), Owners and Operators Committee, and Users Group are all meeting on Thursday May 20th.

powered_by.png, 1 kB
Home arrow Minutes arrow 2010-05-20
2010-05-20 PDF Print

Minutes of the SE MN Regional Radio Owners & Operators Committee Meeting

May 20, 2010




The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Gary Mulleneaux at approximately 10:00 a.m.   After roll call Gary welcomed the following members who were present:


Melissa Burns/Rochester Dispatch 

Gary Mulleneaux/Rochester Communications 

Rick Eggert/Dodge County Dispatch 

Joe Rau/Dodge County

Mike Ask/Fillmore County Dispatch 

Mike Peterson/Winona County Dispatch 

Marlys Sorlie/Mower County LEC 

Mary Seltun/Freeborn County

Scott Woitas/Freeborn County

Tim Boyer/Rice and Steele County

Kari Tompkins/Minnesota State Patrol

Barb Brewington/Rice and Steele County

Michael Olson/Houston County 

Mark Olson/Houston County 

Steve Borchardt/MN DPS, Regional Interoperability Coordinator

Mary Ewers/Northland Business

Bryan DeBarry/Verint Systems


Quorum was verified.  Motion by Mike Olson, seconded by Rick Eggert.


Minutes from the last meeting were handed out and a motion was made by Mike Olson to accept the minutes as presented, seconded by Melissa Burns.


The first item on the agenda was to tour the EM 50 Command Center.  Sgt. John Turk, the Emergency Management Director for Rochester, took all members on a guided tour of the Incident Command Vehicle.  Sgt. Turk advised all of us, that if any agency is ever in need of this command center, to feel free to contact him.  They will come with a support team and set up and assist in any way they can for emergencies or drills.  This vehicle is housed at the Rochester Fire Department.  It has all the newest technology, Smart Board, phones, computers, radios, Dispatch set up.  Anything you could ever need for any type of disaster or drill. 


Sgt. Turk explained the mobile command unit’s capabilities and some of the deployments.  It was used in the Rushford floods, St. Charles fire, a missing person, 4th of July celebrations, Rochester Fest, etc.  Using this mobile unit takes the load off of Dispatch.  Travel and set up times are approximately 20 minutes.  Contact Rochester/Olmsted Dispatch at 507-328-6800 to request the Mobile Command Post.  They do not take over the situation that is occurring, they just come with usually two members and then they assist your department in the event.


Next we were given a presentation by Mary Ewers of Northland Business on their new voice recording equipment.  With her she also had Bryan DeBarry from Verint.  They explained about different software that is coming out.  They also advised us that there is interface software available for their voice loggers so it will work with the Motorola radios.


A discussion was also held on the ARMER radio and NICE recording system and the problems that are occurring.  There are problems with the functionality and instant recall.  Motorola seems to be using “scare tactics” advising that NICE is the only recording device that can be used with their equipment, when there are other solutions out there.


Steve Borchardt, Regional Interoperability Coordinator, advised that maybe the state needs to be involved in this recording problem.  He also discussed with everyone training for staff in a trunked environment.  How the patches work or how resources are deployed.  There needs to be policies and procedures and possibly state standards on this.  He would be willing to come and give a presentation.  What all is necessary in the ARMER environment for migration.  There could be multiple county and specific county training.  There could be a talk group on how to coordinate and schedule rolling out in the next 24 months.


There was a motion to adjourn the meeting by Michael Peterson, seconded by Rick Eggert.


Meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.


Minutes respectfully submitted by Marlys Sorlie, Mower County



< Prev   Next >
© 2018 Southeast Minnesota Public Safety Radio
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.